Motol Township is unique in every sense of the word. It is one of the largest villages in the country, and the culinary capital of the Brest region (it is here where the famous all over the country gastronomic festival "Motalskiya prysmaki" takes place every year), and the center of Polesky ecological tourism. At all times, the inhabitants of Motol succeeded because even now agro-town with a population of more than four thousand resembles rather a small European city than a typical Belarusian village. Even Queen Bon Sforza was met by residents wearing their best boots instead of slippers.
Motol impresses by its developed infrastructure, which not every city can boast of: there is a veterinary hospital, two regular hospitals, a fish shop and four museums, including the Archaeological Museum "Our Roots" that has no analogues in the country.
The Pages of history
History of the agro-town began almost 600 years ago, back in 1422. Motol was a part of the Duchy of Pinsk in these times. The settlement grew so fast that already in 1555 had received a town status and the right to self-government. Even then Motol was famous for its craftsmen and fairs, which attracted traders from all around. The Queen herself visited the town several times, that proofs its exclusivity. Motol was growing and spreading, by the end of the XVI century there had been eight streets and four churches.
In 1706, the town development stopped: it was almost burnt to a crisp, and the inhabitants were killed by the Swedes. However residents of Motol were known for their durability and skillful hands for good reason, already in 1746 their privilege was confirmed by the Polish King Augustus III. In 1798 it received the status of Motol farm, and then was transferred to the possession of the French Princess de Broglie-Revel. In 1812 the town was again devastated by French troops at that time, and released by Emperor Nicholas’ decree from the French authorities in 1827 and the following year transferred to temporary Major General Broyko’s possession.
Township strongly inherited, and during the revolution of 1863-1864, when the settlement burned again. Transfiguration Church was built with the money diverted to the restoration of Motol in 1888, still in force today. During the great wars of the XXth century Motol was a part of Poland, then occupied by the Germans and liberated by the Red Army, and then was re-enabled as part of Poland under the terms of the treaty of Riga. The German army killed the Jews living in Motol, and burnt part of the town at the World War II. As a result of the unequal struggle between the Germans and the partisans, the latter received a crushing defeat, after which the Nazis burnt down Motol. July 16, 1944 the town was liberated, and in 1949 the farm was founded in its territory.
Now Motol is a thriving agro-town, known in the whole country. Everyone finds something for themselves in it: lovers of architecture - ancient architecture, history buffs - museum exhibitions (there are more than twenty seven thousand exhibits in the Motol Museum of Ethnography alone), lovers eat - glorious culinary tradition. Visiting Motol - means to get a basic knowledge of its traditions and to feel true Belarusian hospitality.