Kuzhenetsky Manor in the village of Duboy
Palaces, manors, castles
The village with the interesting name of Duboy is remarkable first because it is the oldest village in Pinsk region. Thanks to its rich history and the luxurious architectural heritage, it attracts a huge number of tourists every year. Really it is worth seeing. Just look at Kuzhenetsky manor, the only all over Belarus!
For the first time we get to know about the existence of a settlement with the name of Duboy from written chronicles back in 1498. There was a numerous quantity of its owners! The stableman Senko Dmitrovich was the first to control the lands of the village. In 1503 it was taken over by the Karpovichys, then by the Verenich-Stakhovskye, the Ivanovichy, and Jan Poloz. Jan Poloz founded a huge park and a castle here. The estate did not cease to be passed from hand to hand: after Poloz Jan Popov, the Oginskye, the Radziwills and others owned it... As you know, the Radziwills glorified their family with their deeds. So Albrecht Radziwill, who was the chancellor of the GDL and owned the village of Duboy, immortalized his name, showing an unusual generosity for the nobility. He presented his possessions to the Jesuit order, thanks to that the summer residence of the Jesuits settled on the lands of Duboy.
The next owner was Mikhail Kazimir Oginsky. Thanks to him, Pinsk region can boast of another unique attraction - a canal bearing the name of its founder. The Jesuit order was dissolved in 1773, and then the Kouzhenetskye bought the estate. They owned it until the end of the XIX century.
Beginning of the construction of the estate was laid even during the Jesuits. The building had two floors. Rustic corners and turrets-bay windows with two tiers were used and its decoration. Picturesque pinnacles with small porticoes adjoining them stood out of the facade that faced the courtyard. The facades on the sides of the building formed alcove towers with a four-pitched roof. Noteworthy in the appearance of the building was that the first floor, supported by the columns, seemed to "hang" over the ground floor. Inside this original building were secret passages, corridors with low arches, looked like tunnels, and striking with the power masonwork of walls.
Kuzhenetsky estate was famous for the fact that many historical celebrities visited it. The King of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth, August Stanislaw Poniatowski, was within its walls. Andrei Bobola visited the estate with the missionary goal. Adam Narashevich’s childhood passed here. And thanks to the drawings of Napoleon Orda, famous Belarusian artist, we know what this beautiful farmstead looked like.
Then again, the owners replaced each other. In 1944, during the Great Patriotic War, which destroyed not only millions of people, but also deprived us of the opportunity to admire the overwhelming majority of architectural monuments of the past, the estate was blown up by the Germans...
Despite the fact that only ruins remained from the building itself, there is still something to see: the farm buildings of that time and a magnificent park with another local attraction - an oak named after Queen Bona. Scientists believe that this mighty tree is about four hundred and fifty years old.