The estate of the Lensky family in Sula village, Minsk region
Historical and cultural complexes
Sula lands are famous for the great names of their owners: Stefan Batory, the Vishnevetskys, the Radziwills and finally the Lenskys. The memories of these families still live in the village of Sula, as well as its most important heritage, the estate which was built by Paul Lensky. He was the owner of Sula land since the late 18th century.
The history of creation of the Lensky's estate.
The Lenskys’ estate in the village of Sula was rebuilt in the 19th century and initially included the manor house itself, the Shrine-tomb, and a picturesque park ensemble with a small wild lake. On the territory of the manor there were other farm buildings as well: a windmill, greenhouse with a small garden, smokehouse and household yard itself.
Besides living rooms there were two spacious studies in the manor house. A large study was located fr om the side where the verandah was. A small one was fr om the other side of the manor and its distinguishing characteristic was a ceiling. It amazed with beauty as it was hand-painted by the artist Zenon Lensky. This talented portraitist was a great grandson of Paul Lensky, the founder of the estate. Directly in front of the manor there was a fountain and a magnificent rosarium was behind the house. And a unique, picturesque park with an area of about five hectares stretched around the estate.
The last owner of Sula estate was Lenskaya, a full sister of Zenon Lensky. Unfortunately, this girl was not destined to live a serene life. Having married for love, she soon became a widow and was forced to return home. However, she did not find peace even in her native land. In 1939 soldiers with guns appeared on the threshold of the estate. The estate was blown up and all valuables were confiscated. Not once the authorities wanted to arrest Elzbieta, however, neither before the World War II, nor after it’s finishing, the local residents did not allow doing it. Until the death of Elzbieta in 1951, she was looked after by her maid Stephanie Shilyuk.
Sula manor and the destrictive 20th century.
Not all parts of Sula manor complex have survived to our days. The most significant loss was the manor house, which, as it was mentioned above, was blown up in November 1939. In the ruins here is still standing the chapel-vault and the Park itself partly survived. In 1992 was burned the windmill, and was also demolished a residential building. However in spite of all these losses many survived and were restored in the reconstruction process.
Works on the restoration and full recovery of the estate were started in 2006 and were completed only 6 years later. As a result there appeared “Panski mayontak Sula”, a huge historical, cultural and tourist complex. You can visit it with one of our excursions across Belarus. On the territory of this estate a lot has changed since then. The stable was restored as well as the forge, which is not fulfilling its functions now, it was transform into a restaurant of national cuisine; the house of the proletariat was rebuilt and converted into a boutique hotel; and in the building, where Elzbieta lived the last years of her life, was created a historical museum.
“Panski mayontak Sula” is a place wh ere all the boundaries between the spiritual and the material are erased, wh ere there is a forgotten charm of a quiet and measured life. Amazing aura of past eras still lives in every corner of this wonderful place.
Tours and excursions
- Minsk - Sula - Rubezhevychi - Zalesye - Smorgon - Hervety - Naroch - Nanosy - Nesvizh - World
- Hotel Belarus
- Days: 7