The agrotown of Dolginovo in the Vileyka district of Minsk region is famous throughout Belarus since famous Belarusian poet and writer Źmitrok Biadula was born there. However, it is not all that can be said about Dolginovo. St Stanislav church is preserved to present days. It is a unique architectural monument, included in a list of state historical heritage.
A wooden church was built in 1553. At the beginning of the XVII century, churchman Isaac Solokay brought a divine image of the Blessed Virgin Mary from Vilna to the village. Three years later, the icon was given to the Bernardine monastery in the town Budslav.
During the Russo-Polish war in 1654-1667, the wooden church burned. Some time later, Duke Drutsky-Sokolinsky built a wooden church in Dolginovo, and 50 years later it was necessary to build another church in the same place. The wooden church was called in honor of St. Stanislav.
Unfortunately, the wooden building at the beginning of the XIX century was destroyed by fire; there was no money for the construction of a new church. For a while, a small chapel fulfilled the function of a church. The building, which we can see today, was built in 1853 at the expense of local people. Then there were about 5000 parishioners, after the war, the number increased to 7200.
At that time the church was built at the expense of priest Kalasanty Lvovich – he was an outstanding man. He was a member of the Philomath society, many people respected him for his inquisitive mind and kindness. Even famous Adam Mickiewicz mentioned this priest in his work. Unfortunately, Kalasanty died shortly after the construction of the church.
During the Second World War, thanks to the courage of Casimir Doroshkevich, many Jews were able to hide from the Nazis in this church. In 1965, Casimir was killed by bandits, and the church left without a patron. Local residents saved the church from closing: they gathered in the church and prayed without a priest. As a result, at the end of the XX century, the church services were renewed.
After the construction of the stone church, the building remained unchanged. Parishioners could go to church during the war and in times of anti-religious persecution. Over time, there appeared a single-tiered wooden bell-tower and a replica of Michelangelo’s Pieta.
The church is surrounded by a stone fence. The main entrance is decorated with arched gates. There are 5 altars and an organ in the church. On Sundays and holiday services, parishioners can listen and enjoy organ music and choir.
The building belongs to the Classical style and attracts not only tourists but also ordinary people who are interested in historical sites and unique architectural monuments.